Is It Haikuesday, Already?

31 May

Blog Post #52

My heart is still at the beach. My haiku for this week is a remembrance of the lovely morning beach walk Bruce and I had on Sunday.

HaikuTues

The sea breeze whispers
The ocean waves rise and fall
A crab sidles by

I, like many haiku poets who write in English, follow the common form of three lines in  5-7-5 syllable pattern, as in my haiku below. However, I am wanting to try writing a haiku in the style of three lines of 17 or fewer syllables, without worrying about the pattern count. I think that this may give me more freedom of composition. Check back for future postings to see how I do.

Do you love writing haiku? The 2016 Haiku Invitational  (organized by the Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival)  is taking submissions for its 2016 competition until tomorrow at 11:59pm (June 1st). Haiku Invitational welcomes submissions celebrating the blossoming of the cherry trees.

The top poems in six categories (Vancouver, BC, Canada, United States, International, and Youth) will be chosen by this year’s judges. This year’s theme is celebrations. You still have time to submit 2 unpublished haiku. Good luck!

Read last year’s winners.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brynne’s Daily Drawing #52

Brynne's Daily Drawing #52

Leave a Reply

