Happy Birthday, Trish

30 Apr

heart-shaped-fluffy-cloudBlog Post #21

A friend of mine passed away on Sunday, April 10th. She was 51. Trish was a beautiful person, funny, passionate and kind. Read her eulogy here.

One of Trish’s good friends, Joanne, started a Facebook conversation— “Acts of Kindness For Trish’s Birthday”. With these words, Joanne invited us to join her: In honour of Trish’s birthday on Thursday, April 28 let’s use a piece of our love for her to do a random act of kindness in her memory. I am excited to see what everyone comes up with.

This was an especially sweet way to remember Trish, as she loved the concept of random acts of kindness and regularly sought out opportunities to carry out good deeds.

Soon there were many people eager to participate and the kindness began to flow. Below are some of the RAOK that were done in remembrance of our friend.

First RAOK for Gary and me today…bringing flowers to Trish’s favourite librarians—Amy, Susan and Irene

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My son Michael took a granola bar for his friend

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first random act was simple early this morning, I took my neighbour’s garbage bin back up to his house. For my second random act, Yesterday we were gifted a position in a camp for Darren, so we offered to split the registration fee for one of Darren’s friends to join the camp. I look forward to more random acts of kindness throughout the day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I paid for the people behind me at Tim Hortons!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just put our neighbour’s green can away. They are on vacation, but said there is nothing we needed to do for them. I also made a point of giving a big wave to another neighbour who has been ornery to us and some of our other the hood.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I bought two small pots of mums for our new neighbours. I was so happy that I was able to “sneakily” leave them on their doorstep.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

While I was at the printers picking up LMCA newsletters a gentleman came in and gave the ladies working there a generous gift card for something. They were thrilled… I secretly hoped the guy was part of this chain.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have been especially kind and friendly to a difficult coworker — and I gave a man on the street today my change, he said thanks without looking up and so I said, “hey,”and he looked at me, then I looked him in the eye and with love in my heart said, “I hope you have the best day possible.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am making dinner for my neighbour tonight. She will join our family so she isn’t by herself tonight. Love the spreading of Trish’s love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I gave my neighbour, a Dad of four (4th is a girl…finally! And only a few weeks old) a beer as he sits watching his littles play.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just got back from cleaning for a friend who is out of town. She will be surprised!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some sweetie left me a gift certificate for a pedicure on my porch this afternoon!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I noticed a neighbour has been posting quite a lot about feeling low, I decided to leave a cheer-me-up on her doorstep. (Please don’t rat me out if you know her)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I sent a 4 month birthday gift to the daughter of my assistant who is on maternity leave. My assistant, her daughter and myself were all born on December 28th. Coincidently while digging through our paperwork I noticed on my birth certificate that I was baptized on April 28. Some kind of karmic symmetry?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first RAOK was flowers for a coworker going through a rough time so I snuck back into work tonight. My second RAOK was going to buy someone’s coffee at Starbucks but I came across a homeless man with a dog in the parking lot so I bought him dinner and bought a bag of dog food for his dog. It wasn’t anonymous but it felt good.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi Everyone, I have LOVED reading everyone’s accounts. Wouldn’t Trish just be tickled??? Here’s my story. I used to donate blood regularly, but stopped about 3 years ago with the flimsy excuse that, after the clinic moved, it was “too far to go”. I’m sure you all know that Trish was a dedicated blood donor until her diagnosis. So I decided I would resume donating blooding in her honour. I went today but wasn’t able to donate due to being in Mexico recently (malaria risk). Disappointing! But then while driving home, I thought about someone who experiencing a pretty deep depression right now. I made a slight detour and surprised her with a hug. We made a date to go for a walk together in a week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Julia’s RAOK was to invite a girl she didn’t know to sit with her in HACE today. She was looking very sad and dejected as she had no friends and everyone was saying ‘this seats taken’. Julia said it made the girl smile when she invited her to sit with her.

Hannah’s RAOK was 1) to help a friend in math class today and 2) help an 80 year old lady pick up her keys that she had dropped and was struggling to reach

My RAOK today: I let several drivers merge, turn in front of me, go in slow traffic and I received plenty of smiles/waves for this. I also ‘filled the buckets’ of several students today who I work with in reading club — doling out compliments of what I loved, what they improved best at, and congratulated them when they remembered how to pronounce a really difficult word. I also wrote a thank you email to Julia’s chiropractor for pushing me to get her eyes checked. Thanks to her we avoided a potentially very serious medical/eye condition. She talked to me about it twice and even called me after hours with her concerns if what it could be.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, my RAOK was I bought a coffee card punch pass at the College cafeteria and anonymously paid for the next four coffee purchases.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the blood donation theme, blood services called last week and as I was letting the call go to voicemail I thought of Trish, picked up the phone, and ended up donating last Thursday night.

I had hoped the kids were going to randomly clean areas of the house…maybe next year!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, I went to see a friend, Helen, who has a market garden store. I had not been to the store since last Fall. This is where I buy my farm fresh eggs. I took her some egg cartons. As I was leaving, to my surprise, she gave me a chocolate bar! Her special act of kindness to me!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I worked very late today and didn’t get around to very much, but I did bring in some eggs for a coworker today. She is a quiet woman and I don’t know her that well. This was a good ice breaker and she seemed pleased. The chief at the reservation where I work is not very mobile so I brought a coffee to him today. I do that almost every day, though… and he’s technically my boss so this could be interpreted as brown-nosing. That’s the best I could muster up I’m afraid. I have enjoyed reading everyone’s contributions.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One last one from my household… my Alicia put a trail of her jelly beans in my bedroom on the floor leading to a note saying I love you. She’s not prone to demonstrative acts! Made my sleep better!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am admitting I struggled with this a bit – my first time officially doing RAOK. I was super busy at work yesterday, my coworkers didnt need anything that I could see. There was a homeless man hanging around our buildings (city facilities) but I wrestled with not encouraging him to hang about our family facilities, and each time I thought about it he had moved on. I ended up by putting away the garbage bins of the nice people across the street when I got home from work. I did go for a morning walk earlier this week (instead of sitting on the couch) and smiled and said good morning to each person I passed by. Only one out of the half dozen refused to acknowledge me. I will continue with this, and at least this has me thinking hard about the concept.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I thought of Trishie all day. I did a few minor RAOK throughout the day. At 6pm last night my friend, who’s hubby started chemo on Thursday, called to thank me for the red envelope… I said not me, and she said ‘You did a random act on me, you goof”—so I will take it, lol! Thank you, Trish, for making me look good. I believe!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It was also a struggle for me to do a RAOK, because I wanted to truly honour Trish. I am a teacher, so I tried to have all my interactions with the school community be ROAK but I should do that every day so I felt I was cheating a bit. Then I found a wallet at a restaurant. I felt like Trish gave me a little nudge and said keep ROAKing everyday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I watched a guy drop a $5 bill today and chased him down to return it. He was so thankful! I told him if it’d been $100 I might not have been so generous!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Even though I do RAOK throughout my day, most days I’ve never really aware of it. Love, love, love, this post. Hope we can make it an annual event!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Big hugs to all of you. I think Trish would be so happy and honoured to have all this kindness shared because of her! ~ Joanne

This was a beautiful tribute and I was honoured to be included. Thank you, Joanne, for initiating this project and thank you to everyone who participated! I’m sure that this project will inspire many to perform random acts of kindness every day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brynne’s Daily Drawing #21

Brynne's Daily Drawing #21

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Trish”

  1. danibrown57 May 2, 2016 at 7:54 am #

    Lovely post, Cathy! And tell Brynne I LIVE this illustration! Tell her I would like to purchase a copy to display, it really speaks to me. Hmmm, the image gives be an idea for a future RAOK…

    Like

    • danibrown57 May 2, 2016 at 7:55 am #

      *love*

      Like

  2. donnam May 3, 2016 at 8:11 am #

    A lovely tribute to Trish. I wish I had known her like you do. Spurring me to join a book club soon.

    Like

  3. Donna Kirk May 3, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

    oh what an amazing tribute to your friend Trish. Beautiful idea I loved reading all the RAOK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

