Comfort Food

30 Nov

I was craving macaroni and cheese (comfort food – yum) and as I was gathering the ingredients to make this delicious casserole, I found a butternut squash and I decided to add some in. Usually when I use the squash, I roast it in the oven, but I did not have time, so I peeled and chopped the squash and steamed it in a little bit of water, until soft and then pureed it before adding it to the white sauce.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC ‘N’ CHEESE

2 cups Small Pasta
1 Tablespoon Butter
1 Tablespoon Flour
¾ cups Milk
½ cups Butternut Squash Cooked and Pureed
1-½ cup Cheese (I used Kraft Habenero blend for a little kick, but you could use Italian Blend or Mozzerella)
2 Tablespoons Cream Cheese
½ teaspoons Salt
⅛ teaspoons Pepper
Bread crumbs for topping

Preheat oven to 350 F

Bring a pot of water to boil for the pasta. Once boiling, add pasta and cook until pasta is tender. Drain and set aside.

Melt butter over medium low heat in a saucepan and add the flour. Whisk and cook for 2 minutes, making a roux.

Slowly add milk. Whisk until combined. Next add everything thing else. Stir until combined.

Place the pasta in an ovenproof casserole and add the sauce to the pasta and combine until the pasta is coated. Top with bread crumbs. (I omitted this because I did not have any bread crumbs on hand, but add them if you do – they make a nice crunchy topping). Bake in the oven for about 25 to 30 minutes. Enjoy!

butternut squash

2 Responses to “Comfort Food”

  1. db johnston December 7, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of squash, but this mac & cheese was yummy!

    Like

    • cgjohnston January 8, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

