A Whisky Odyssey

29 Nov

whiskybottlesIn the last couple of months, my husband has discovered a deep affinity for scotch whisky. He has been researching  brands of single malt scotch and the distilleries where they are made, reading about them, and trying several different ones he thinks he might like. Once he decides he likes something, he learns everything he can about the subject and the topic of scotch is no different. He read about and now practices the “correct” way to enjoy a glass of  this “aqua vitae”.

I am definitely not a scotch drinker, I just cannot abide the smell or the taste of the stuff, with one exception – Highland Park 18 YO (it’s so smooth and warming — I think I could manage to sip a glass of that!). I am, however, learning a little about the drink, as Bruce imparts to me little tidbits of interesting lore about the whisky, its history and describes the different tastes and textures of the brands he is trying. For instance, I now know that some scotches are aged in sherry barrels, some are very peaty (that is the smell/taste that I don’t like), and one scotch in particular (I forget which one) is peaty and salty. Salty? Guess I should taste that one, I can’t imagine a whisky tasting salty, but Bruce says I wouldn’t like it at all.

Now that he is so into having a wee dram, he has started a new blog entitled A Whisky Odyssey. It is just the beginning, but I think that it will be a very interesting journey and I know that I will learn a lot from reading his posts as he discovers more about scotch and the pleasures of “nosing” and “tasting”.

One Response to “A Whisky Odyssey”

  1. db johnston November 30, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    I believe salt and peat go hand in hand; the two Peatiest scotches I’ve tried so far (Islay scotches: Laphroig Quarter Cask and Ardbeg Uigeadail) were both very interesting; and, in addition to the peatiness, they had had a strong nose and palate of sea-salt. Peat (partially decayed vegetation) is used in fires to dry the malted barley, thereby imparting a delightful smokey flavour to the whisky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

