Countdown to Christmas

26 Nov

It’s a month until Christmas and I am thinking about pulling out the boxes of ornaments, garland, elves, Santas and reindeer out of the cardboard boxes stacked up in the storage room. In a few days it will be December 1st and we will bring out the Advent Calendar and the Christmas candles and begin to decorate our house for the holidays.

I love the idea of beautifully bedecked rooms glittering with coordinated ornaments and a living room showcasing a gloriously sparkling tree with shiny wrapped gifts waiting to be opened, looking like a scene right out of a Martha Stewart magazine.

However, my efforts usually aren’t that grandiose, still, I manage to pull together a warm and pretty Christmas theme that emanates a Yuletide feeling.

This year, I’m thinking a reindeer and Santa theme with a few happy elves merrily perched in nooks and crannies.

I am hoping to have a Christmas cookie-baking and hot chocolate day with my two daughters and I am really looking forward to getting together with them to decorate our tree while singing carols, reading our favourite Christmas stories and hanging our stockings up under the mantle.

I am looking forward to getting together with family and friends to celebrate and enjoy the joys of the season. Steaming mugs of mulled wine, gingerbread houses, twinkling lights, children sitting on Santa’s knee for the traditional Christmas photo — all these little things that brighten our days and bring smiles to our faces and hearts reminding us of all that we have to celebrate and be grateful for.

I guess I am getting a little excited for the holidays to begin!

Only 30 more sleeps!!

Leave a Reply

