Do You Want Ketchup With That?

12 Mar

I’ve been searching for a recipe to make my own ketchup – one that uses fresh tomatoes not canned, yields a reasonable amount of sauce and is a simple, easy-cook method. After countless hours researching recipes, I finally found one to start with.

I rolled up my sleeves and got to work.

I chopped tomatoes, onions and threw them into my heavy blue enameled dutch oven, added some sugar, spices, tomato paste, vinegar and a pinch of salt. Mixed it all up and turned on the heat.

Then I sunk into the sofa with a glass of wine and my current novel. Every so often, I would wander into the kitchen to give my ketchup a stir, adjust the seasonings, refill my wine glass. After about an hour, the mixture had reduced by about half. I let it cool slightly, whirred it around in the blender, poured it into a clean (glass) jar and voilà, beautiful, flavourful ketchup!

The results were taste-tested by my family and deemed “delicious”. (The ultimate compliment came from one of my daughters, who remarked that it tasted like “ketchup”).

This means no more store-bought ketchup for us. There are so many variations that I want to try with my next concoctions! Next time, I will roast the tomatoes for a more intense, smoky flavour.

Here is a link to the recipe that I used. Please note: that I made a few adjustments – I used less sugar and olive oil. I also used less vinegar (and used equal parts red wine, cider and balsamic vinegars). I used whole spices tied in a bit of cheesecloth.

I am so encouraged by this attempt that I going to give homemade mustard a try!

2 Responses to “Do You Want Ketchup With That?”

  1. db johnston March 12, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Yum!

    Like

  2. cgjohnston March 12, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

