Pajama Days?

24 Nov

So, it’s been a couple of months now and I’m still unemployed –  still job hunting for the major part of my waking hours. You would be surprised at how long it can take to do a simple job search on the world wide web!

My day generally starts like this:
I usually wake up around 6:00am, stumble to the kitchen, grind some coffee beans and put the kettle on. Once the elixir of life is brewing in the press, I call my 19 year old with a rousing yell of “COFFEE IN 5 MINUTES!”

Sipping the first rejuvenating draughts of Starbucks’ Guatamala Antigua, or some such roast, I read the morning paper. Straight through to the classifieds (well, ok, I usually skip the sports page, and uh, the business section, too!). Then I reach for a pen to tackle the New York Times crossword.

I have to admit, I LOVE that I am not rushed in the mornings now and I can luxuriously lay about READING the paper!

Once I have finished the puzzle, I  sit down at the computer and diligently surf through many job boards, stopping to apply to any and all positions I can possibly spin my talents, expertise and experience to. I’m sure that there is a better way of finding my dream job (or ANY job, for that matter), but I haven’t directed my energies into figuring that out yet – but I will.

As I am digging through all the job ads, weeding them out for possible scams and unsuitable positions, I also find a few minutes to check my email, my blogs, my husband’s blogs, Facebook and Twitter! Whew! Talk about busy!!

…and it doesn’t hurt to play a game or two of solitaire or hearts, does it?

Oh, the point…

Today around 3:15pm, I was in the kitchen loading the dishwasher, having exhausted my job search for the day, when my husband walked in the door. He gives me a look and exclaims “Still in your pajamas!!!”

I looked at him and answered, “Well, I had nowhere to go and no one to see today, so I thought I might as well be comfortable!”

Every day is pajama day!

Leave a Reply

