Oh my, Miss Scarlet!

6 Nov

I love to sew and I have often sewn Christmas and birthday gifts for my family. I wouldn’t say that I am an expert seamstress, but I enjoy the feeling of a job well done when I have finished a sewing project.

My latest attempt was to sew a jacket (using the instructions in Susan Wasinger’s book, The Feisty Stitcher). In the spirit of “recycle, reduce, reuse”, I decided to make the garment from an old curtain panel (Oh my, Miss Scarlet!).

Getting readyI painstakingly created the pattern following the instructions in the book and laid out the pieces on the material. I cut them out carefully and then pinned them together, again using the book as my guide.

Pieces cut out

 

It all went smoothly, until I came to the collar piece, which I found difficult. The instructions were no help, so I sewed it together as best I could.

All in all, I was happy with the way the jacket turned out, but there are a few things I am going to tweak. In my opinion, the sleeves and the front of the jacket need to look more finished (the cuffs roll up, so the unfinished seams show, as do the seams on the front inside). I just happen to have some old striped material that will coordinate nicely with the plain beige and I will try to add this to the cuffs and make a sort of finish to the front. Stay tuned for photos of the re-do!

Below is a photo of my daughter wearing the finished jacket!

Leave a Reply

