The Wheels on the Bus

3 Nov

I’ve been looking for a job for a month now and not having too much luck. So I was quite happy on Friday, when I received a call for an interview. The time was set for the following Monday at 9:00am.

The office was a fair distance from my home and as I was taking public transit, I made sure to plan my route in advance.

Monday morning arrived and I left early enough to give myself a cushion of time in case I had difficulty finding my destination. I decided that I would walk to the skytrain station and only catch a bus if one came along on my way.

When I reached the first bus stop, I looked up the street to see if I could see a bus on the way. Not seeing one, I started walking. Of course, as soon as I had walked half way down the street, a bus came rumbling along, passing me. I must have looked very dismayed because the bus driver kindly stopped just ahead of me and waited for me to catch up and hop on.  It was my lucky day!! I had a little more cushion time.

It was a small act of kindness, but it filled me with optimism. It is always great to be the recipient of a thoughtful gesture and I was very grateful to the bus driver. I felt happy, confident and determined to “pay it forward”.

Oh, yes – the interview – it went very well, (or so I thought), but I did not get the job. 😦

4 Responses to “The Wheels on the Bus”

  1. My First Online Diary November 3, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    all the best, you will get one soon 🙂

    Like

    • cgjohnston November 7, 2011 at 12:53 am #

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. db johnston November 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I really like this post: small gestures make big differences.

    Like

  3. cgjohnston November 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I agree!

    Like

Leave a Reply

