The Pumpkin Patch

2 Nov

Pumpkins

On Friday, October 28, I was on my way back home from my local corner store, a quick trip for some last minute forgotten items, when I  heard the laughter and joyous chorus of children’s voices. I live across the street from an elementary school and at that moment a classroom of kids was outside milling about the schoolyard, chattering and giggling.

I saw that the kids were all carrying bags and focused on the ground in front of them and as I came closer I was delighted to see that the yard had been transformed into a pumpkin patch! There, nestled in the bright green grass, lay twenty or so beautiful orange pumpkins, glistening in the early afternoon sunshine. The children were each intent on choosing the perfect gourd to be transformed into a spooky Jack-O-Lantern.

This simple event, organized by teachers, was a beautiful thing, put on to bring joy into children’s lives, some of whom may not have ever had the opportunity to visit a pumpkin patch. It was lovely thing to witness.

The best part of it all… one little voice rang out clear as a bell…”Oh, I am so happy!” That definitely made my day.

Leave a Reply

